Archive for May 27th, 2007|Daily archive page

Windows Home Server – Microsoft has a winner on their hands!

I’ve been using the Windows Home Server beta for a couple of months now and I’m really quite impressed. There are sites that describe the features in great detail… no need for me to repeat this list here. As usual, the Wikipedia description is quite good and complete. My favorite features are:

  • Automatic or manual backups – your PCs will wake up from suspend or hibernation and backup automatically.
  • Single Instance Store – it makes backups more compact by saving only a single copy of a file if there are multiple copies on the machines on your network (like MP3s, photos, program files, etc.)
  • File duplication – rather than keep redundant copies of all files, it backs up selected shared folders on multiple hard drives.
  • Easy expandability – no need to buy identical disk drives… just add new drives to the server and they get added to the storage pool. They can either be mounted internally via PATA or SATA interfaces (or SAS if you’re hardcore) or externally via USB or Firewire.
  • UPnP media server via Windows Media Connect. I have it streaming my MP3s to a new SMC SWCWAA-G digital media adapter.
  • Remote access over the internet, directly accessible via dynamic DNS at a domain that Microsoft provides free of charge.

In my opinion, the Mirra used to be the best backup solution available, but it drove me crazy by backing up my entire Outlook Express email every time I received a new note or deleted one, which drove me crazy and hurt performance. Here is my comparison of Windows Home Server, the Seagate Mirra, and the WD My Book World Edition (the latter is based on available product literature, not first hand experience):

Feature Windows Home Server Seagate Mirra WD My Book World Edition
Automatic backup PCs “wake up” each night and backup over LAN Continuous backup (can affect performance) Continuous backup? (EMC Retrospect)
Multiple versions of files Yes, through Volume Shadow Copy Ten versions kept ?
Number of HDDs One to “unlimited” (limit is by PC case, # of SATA/PATA ports on motherboard, and USB expandability) One One (World Edition) or two (World Edition II)
Expandable capacity Yes, just add internal or external drives No No
Print server Yes No No
Data redundancy Yes, optional copies of folders on multiple HDDs No Optional internal mirroring
Remote access to home PCs Yes, but only through IE, not Firefox. No No
Remote access to data Yes, through Dynamic DNS with a domain name provided by Microsoft Through Seagate’s servers on Internet Through Mio Net’s servers
UPnP media server Windows Media Connect No No
User replaceable drives Yes No Yes
Data de-duplication Yes (Single Instance Store) No No
“Bare metal restore” Yes No (only data files backed up) Probably (depends on Retrospect)

More posts will follow on what I really like about Windows Home Server.